| Prescription drugsThe benefit most people buy the plan for. | 70% of the first $7,000, then 100% to $100,000 a calendar year; no dispensing-fee cap stated; generic substitution applies“70% on first $7,000 / 100% on next $93,000 / $100,000 in a calendar year” Sun Life Personal Health Insurance, Standard with semi-private hospital and dental, sample policy (Series 9.01), p. 5 | ComboPlus Basic (brochure): $5,000 a year; coinsurance and dispensing-fee cap not stated in either document“$5,000/Year†” Manulife FlexCare Health and Dental Plan sample policy (with Vitality), p. 9 | 80%; $10,000 a calendar year; dispensing fee capped at $7“Benefits payable for prescription drugs are limited to $10,000 per Insured in a calendar year.” Canada Life Freedom to Choose, Select plus sample policy booklet (70-0101), p. 22 | Essential: 70% of the first $4,500 then 100%; co-pay capped at $100 a prescription and $1,350 a year; no overall maximum; no dispensing-fee cap stated“70% coverage for the first $4,500 in eligible drugs submitted per participant per calendar year. 100% coverage when eligible drugs submitted exceeds $4,500 per participant per calendar year.” Medavie Blue Cross Health, Complete Health policy booklet (BRO-280), p. 12 | Tier 2: $1,000 a year with a $6 per-prescription deductible, no coinsurance, no dispensing-fee cap“$6 per prescription deductible (No annual deductible), no coinsurance, no waiting period, no dispensing fee cap” GMS My Health Coverage policy wording, p. 13 | Basic: 70% of the first $7,142, maximum $5,000 a year; Enhanced: 90% of the first $11,111, maximum $10,000; no dispensing-fee cap stated“Basic plan: Reimbursement in percentage 70% of first $7,142 Maximum amount per person per year $5,000” Desjardins SOLO Healthcare brochure (18052E), p. 12 | ZONE 4: 80%; $2,500 a year in years 1 and 2, $3,500 from year 3; no dispensing-fee cap stated“Plan pays 80% / Year 1-2: $2,500 per person per year, / Year 3+: $3,500 to annual max.” GreenShield ZONE plan comparison chart, p. 2 |
| Paramedical practitionersPer-visit caps make the annual figure hard to reach. | $300 a calendar year per practitioner type; no per-visit cap stated“The amount we pay is limited to a maximum of $300 in a calendar year for each type or paramedical practitioner except psychologist or social worker.” Sun Life Personal Health Insurance, Standard with semi-private hospital and dental, sample policy (Series 9.01), p. 8 | not stated; the schedule of benefits is not in the sample | $40 a visit, $400 a calendar year per service“are limited to a maximum amount payable of $40 per visit up to $400 in a calendar year, for each paramedical service set out above.” Canada Life Freedom to Choose, Select plus sample policy booklet (70-0101), p. 24 | Essential: 70%, $400 per practitioner per calendar year; massage needs a physician's referral each year“Chiropractor $400 per calendar year. ... Massage Therapist requires a physician's written referral each year. $400 per calendar year.” Medavie Blue Cross Health, Complete Health policy booklet (BRO-280), p. 9 | Tier 2: $350 per practitioner a year, no coinsurance; tier 1 $250 combined; tier 3 $500“Health Practitioners (acupuncture, massage therapy, chiropractic, physiotherapy/athletic therapist, naturopath, speech therapist, chiropody/podiatry, dietician, osteopath) $250 per year combined maximum $350 per practitioner Maximum $500 per practitioner Maximum” GMS My Health Coverage policy wording, p. 3 | Basic: $20 a visit, $400 a year for all practitioners combined; Enhanced: $30 and $600“Acupuncturist $20 $400 for all consultations combined $30 $600 for all consultations combined” Desjardins SOLO Healthcare brochure (18052E), p. 10 | ZONE 4: $40 a visit, $400 per practitioner a year“$40 per visit to a max. of $400 per person per practitioner, per year” GreenShield ZONE plan comparison chart, p. 2 |
| VisionOften every two years, not annually. | $250 every two calendar years including exams, after a one-year wait“An insured person becomes eligible for vision coverage one year after the effective date of this policy.” Sun Life Personal Health Insurance, Standard with semi-private hospital and dental, sample policy (Series 9.01), p. 6 | ComboPlus Basic (brochure): $250 every two years“prescription eyeglasses, including lenses and frames • contact lenses • laser eye surgery” Manulife FlexCare Health and Dental Plan sample policy (with Vitality), p. 12 | $200 every two years; exam $75 every two years“Benefits payable for glasses, contact lenses, and laser eye surgery are limited to $200 every two Years.” Canada Life Freedom to Choose, Select plus sample policy booklet (70-0101), p. 24 | Essential: $150 per two calendar years after a 6-month wait; Enhanced $300“Vision Care $150 per 2 calendar years combined. 6 month waiting period.” Medavie Blue Cross Health, Complete Health policy booklet (BRO-280), p. 9 | Tier 2: $150 per two years; tier 3 $250; tier 1 none“Prescription Eyewear (glasses, sunglasses, contact lenses, refractive laser eye surgery) x $150 $250 Per 2 years” GMS My Health Coverage policy wording, p. 3 | Basic $150, Enhanced $250, per 24 months, plus an eye exam“Reimbursement limit is $150 per period of 24 consecutives months per insured.” Desjardins SOLO Healthcare brochure (18052E), p. 5 | ZONE 4: $150 every two years; exam $80 every two years“$150 per person every 2 years” GreenShield ZONE plan comparison chart, p. 2 |
| Travel medicalBundled travel cover carries the same stability rules as a standalone policy. | Included: $1,000,000 lifetime, 60 days a trip, ends at 80; nine-month pre-existing lookback“A “pre-existing” medical condition is one where symptoms appeared or required medical attention, hospitalization or treatment (including changes in medication or dosage) in the nine-month period before the insured person departs from the province where they live” Sun Life Personal Health Insurance, Standard with semi-private hospital and dental, sample policy (Series 9.01), p. 15 | Included on the core plan: $5,000,000 per incident, 9 days a trip, ends at 70, nine-month stability, $100 deductible“a medical condition that isn’t stable within the consecutive 9-month period immediately before the date of departure from your province or territory of residence” Manulife FlexCare Health and Dental Plan sample policy (with Vitality), p. 20 | Optional rider, priced separately: 30 days a trip to age 80, $1,000,000 per trip, $100 deductible“Coverage is provided for a maximum of 30 days per trip.” Canada Life Freedom to Choose, Select plus sample policy booklet (70-0101), p. 7 | Only with the Enhanced tier: 30 days a trip, $2,000,000; stability 3 months under 65, 6 months at 65 and over“Coverage Duration 30 days per trip outside province of residence Maximum Coverage Limited to $2 million per participant per 30 day trip” Medavie Blue Cross Health, Complete Health policy booklet (BRO-280), p. 11 | Included: 30 days out of country, $2,000,000; stability 90 days to age 69 and 180 days at 70 and over“GMS does not cover any expenses resulting directly or indirectly from medical condition(s) which have not been stable immediately prior to your departure date for: a. 90 days for all individuals who were 69 years of age and younger” GMS My Health Coverage policy wording, p. 11 | Included: $5,000,000 per trip, first 30 days of a trip, 90 days a year; stability period not stated in the brochure“First 30 days of a trip $5,000,000 90 days per year” Desjardins SOLO Healthcare brochure (18052E), p. 11 | Included; ZONE 4: 15 days a trip, $5,000,000 a year (30 days on ZONE 5 to 7); stability period not stated“15 days per trip, $5,000,000 per person per year” GreenShield ZONE plan comparison chart, p. 2 |